PDA

View Full Version : Amp question

essexjet
08-02-2004, 10:14 AM
I have a 1997 essex genesis jetboat. I came from essex with 4 6x9's. I have just completed building a new rear seat with 3 8" sub's built into it. I mounted a fosgate P4004 for the 6x9's and a fosgate 300W mono for the sub's under the passenger side dash. I was told that I have to mount the amp's no more the 18" from the ground or in this case the neg terminal on the battery. Is this wrong or do I need to move the amp to the engine compartment.

riverbound
08-02-2004, 10:31 AM
That is the recommendation for a car. A boat is a completely different install. We run a power and ground directly form the batt. or the perko to the amp.

essexjet
08-02-2004, 11:06 AM
thanks Bill. I never installed or built a sound system before so I'm new at this. Have you ever built a new seat before. I hope I did it right so it does not come apart with people sitting on it.:confused: I used 1/2 MDF to make to whole thing and then fiberglass resin it. Hope it stays together.

riverbound
08-02-2004, 11:18 AM
Yes I have been known to rebuild a seat or two. The only thing I would have done differently was I would have used 3/4 mdf, its a little stronger.

ROZ
08-02-2004, 12:13 PM
Originally posted by riverbound
Yes I have been known to rebuild a seat or two. The only thing I would have done differently was I would have used 3/4 mdf, its a little stronger.
NOt just that, but I would have done multiple coats of resin to make sure the MDF is covered. It will soak up water like a sponge from even a pinhole..... :sad:
You made just the enclosure and not the entire seat base out of MDF, right? :confused:

Mr. Naudio
08-02-2004, 01:44 PM
Originally posted by essexjet
I was told that I have to mount the amp's no more the 18" from the ground or in this case the neg terminal on the batt
Are sure they where not talking about the power cable to the amps ?