PDA

View Full Version : Engine compartment gelcoat?

Boostedballs
10-31-2007, 05:14 PM
My engine cover may might not go back on my Kona after I drop the 496 in there. This will leave a very ugly floor in the engine bay. It looks like gelcoat or paint in areas but I want the whole thing black or dark gray. The engine is out and I cleaned the hell out of the engine bay with castrol superclean and hot water. I was going to wipe it all down with Assitone (while not smoking) then scuff with 200 grit and just brush on some black gelcoat that comes in the qt can that you see in the marine section of sporting goods stores.
Does this sound idiotic? I'm an airbrush artist and haven't messed around much with the gelcoat.

H20MOFO
10-31-2007, 05:24 PM
Boosted the only help I am is to tell you I don't know how either. All I can say is I did a (inside)floor of a boat and it never did cure all the way. Aparently it takes more than gel and catalist. Yellowboat told me how dn here in the fiberglass section it went so far over my head I was embarassed to ask what he meant.:) :o :sqeyes: :idea:

Boostedballs
10-31-2007, 05:29 PM
Haha! I wonder if you could have waxed the surface. I have read something about using wax on some types of resins to get rid of the tack but I don't know Jack about this stuff.

H20MOFO
10-31-2007, 06:35 PM
Someone else said some thing about wax. I thought that was just so the gel would release from the mold. Someone else said it would cure in the sun but that's what would make it tacky. It would be fine i'd take it out on a hot day and stick city. I dunno let me know when you figure it out.:D

GAWnCA
10-31-2007, 10:41 PM
There is an additive that goes into the gel resin before you apply it, that floats to the surface and seals off the air which allows the gel coat to cure. With out that you get a sticky mess, ready for the addition of fiberglassed reinforced resin which will cure.

Jbb
11-01-2007, 03:38 AM