PDA

View Full Version : Techincal/Theory question

78Eliminator
05-30-2002, 08:44 AM
Here is a question: I understand that horsepower=speed with cars but I am a little new to this jet boat shit so bear with me.
If a boat with a 1200 hp engine is spinning at 5500 RPMS and another boat with a 600 hp engine is spinning the same pump at 5500 RPMs, what is the difference? The only thing that would make a bit of difference is the hole shot I guess, but I'm more of a top speed guy.
Am I missing something here? Do you match impellers to HP? Where does all the hosepower pay off? With drag cars, you can get a big bite with the drag slicks but how the f&*# do you hook with a jet? Help me out pls.
Addicted to Speed Justin

HavasuDreamin'
05-30-2002, 09:06 AM
The 600 hp motor would not be able to turn the same impeller, therefore it would go slower. Same with propellor driven boats.

78Eliminator
05-30-2002, 09:09 AM
So if I build up my motor, at some point I will need to get a faster impeller that can work more efficiently with the added power?

Erik
05-30-2002, 09:48 AM
Yep, The bigger motor will allow you to turn an impellar with a bigger bite to it. Your pump needs to be matched to your motor.

78Eliminator
05-30-2002, 10:44 AM
Ok, got it. Next question: How do you know when you've built the motor up and it's time to get a different impeller? What are the symptoms of too much motor and not enough impeller?

CrazyHippy
05-30-2002, 10:59 AM
too many rpm
BJH

HYDROMOBILE
05-30-2002, 11:01 AM
Call a profesional, he will save you time and money, Jim Brock

LVjetboy
05-30-2002, 11:42 AM