PDA

View Full Version : Legal Advice if Possible

HammerDown
09-29-2002, 03:11 PM
Here's whats going on...my neighbor has a rather LARGE somewhat dead tree overhanging my property. He's not concerned about it...now when it falls, and it will, its going to wipe out my boat and also my pick up truck if it's parked there at the wrong time.
I'm not able to get (any) insurance for my 1983 21 Daytona. And my home owners won't cover it even parked in my back yard! And that's the only place to keep it.
Sooooo my question, would the neighbor be liable for the damage his tree's going to do? Or am I F$$Ked?

572Daytona
09-29-2002, 05:55 PM
I'm not a lawyer but there is some information on that subject here:
http://www.nolo.com/lawcenter/ency/article.cfm/objectid/D815344D-7AA8-4B48-A1FD1F04F351504F/catID/D0B308BB-D553-438E-94E8D66498A911D7

Jbb
09-29-2002, 06:27 PM
I can tell you this from a personal experience with State Farm ,my carrier In the State of Georgia....
My Neighbor had a tree get hit by lightning right outside my fence on his property.
Tree died and stood there for a while ...tall Ga pine ...One day I hear a loud crash and find his tree snapped in two and it had landed perfectly in my pool crushing my fence and deck and screwing up my pool liner.So I tell the guy next door to call his Insurance company He does and comes back and tells me "They said because the tree was dead your Insurance Co has to pay ......WTF?
So I call State Farm and the adjuster said If the tree was alive he would have to pay but since it was dead it was MY duty acording to law to force him to cut it down!!!Since I had only asked him verbally to remove it...not in writing I had no proof So my carrier had to pay.......hard to believe but true!!!!!!

Rickster
09-29-2002, 06:44 PM