PDA

View Full Version : magneto vs mallory unilite

flattie
01-26-2002, 04:58 PM
I have been running a mallory unilite in my big block for the last 2 years with no problems. Now that I have this new blower moter I'm wondering if I should put my magneto in the engine.
your thoughts count
Rick

superdave013
01-26-2002, 07:41 PM
I ran mags for years and liked them. Uh, that's until I tried an MSD.
The good thing about mags is you don't need a charging system. But once you go MSD you won't go back.

SK48
01-26-2002, 08:04 PM
I run a mag in my Biesemeyer flatbottom, no charging system, but it is hard to beat the new technology. MSD etc. is the new way to go. Building a turbo motor for my Hallett and will use MSD for sure.

RumRunner
01-27-2002, 04:58 AM
MSD is the only way to go!!!

01-27-2002, 06:04 AM
I vote for the MSD also. The HP it takes to turn a mag at the higher rpms is rough on cam/dist. gears and should be checked regulary. With the MSD you will need a good alternator as it draws alot of current.

LOWRIVER2
01-27-2002, 06:09 PM
I know majority of racers are running MSD with success. Is there a worry about an MSD as far as failure (more varibles with MSD) at speed? A magneto would seem less likely to cut on the track. I've been told this by magneto users, any truth to it or pure fiction?
LowRiver

superdave013
01-27-2002, 07:21 PM
Originally posted by LOWRIVER2:
I know majority of racers are running MSD with success. Is there a worry about an MSD as far as failure (more varibles with MSD) at speed? A magneto would seem less likely to cut on the track. I've been told this by magneto users, any truth to it or pure fiction?
LowRiver
Well, a Winston Cup nascar has two boxes in it. They don't do it for the extra weight so there must be some truth to it. So far so good with my set up but if I was racing for that kind of money I would have a back up too.

LOWRIVER2
01-27-2002, 07:43 PM
I'm sorry SuperDave,