Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Neve Owned a Boat, Got me a Jet ! Advice ?

airocraft
    Dear Hot Boat Readers and Posters :
    I have never owned a boat before two days ago . :crossx:
    I traded a $600 TV for this 1978 Sleekcraft Jet Boat as I allways wanted a boat but dont like props so ...... :idea:
    Anyway ...Keep in mind that I am a pretty good engine/tranny builder, can work glass and cup spray. I worked in NASCAR as an Engine Builder and did fab work on the body shop so I will undertake the labor myself SLOWLY and METICULOSLY !!!
    So , what do I look for to tell me if this is worth the $600 TV I traded and if its worth my time doing? Some guy who was a prop head said I should sell this stuff on ebay and use the money to get a prop ??? :argue:
    This is what I know so far:
    1. The Pump is a Berkley 12JC-A-H ( What does the A and H Stand for )
    The Casing had H-2155 cast into it and another plate that said Hardin and another # (( Who is Hardin ))
    The pump turns surprinsingly freely by hand and there seems to be no damage to the impeller, drive shaft, or housing. The Nozzle turns easily with the steering wheel. The Transom , hull and stringers supporting the engine mount thought covered in dirt seem undamaged and dry.
    2.Hardin Marine Accesories ( No Motor ). Hardin Water Cooled Headers in good shape, Hardin Valve Covers, Hardin Water Pump Cover, Thermostat housing, and Hardin Bell Housing which seems to fit an Olds 455.
    2.5 I have a Newly Rebuilt Olds car engine that is the same year and size. If I replace the Carb, Distributer, Water Pump, Vavles and Springs, and Heads do you think it wil mount up to the Bell Housing and Hardin Headers? and go lets say 45 around the lake ? How is that done ? A Mini Drive Shaft and U Joints?