Thread: Rochester Carb size?

Terminal Velocity
    Does anyone know what size rochester (4 bbl) would've come on a 454 Mag/Bravo 1 in 1989 in a 23.5 Classic Carrera? I redid the motor for this guy and it seems slow out of the hole. I'm going to put my John Avery built Super Stock Carb on it this weekend to see if it picks up any but would like to know what size the original is. I'm sure it's never been rebuilt since it was new and I SUCK at Rochesters.
    It has a quicksilver Mirage prop I don't remember the size but it's a three blade. Anyone have an idea on a good prop for this boat.
    Thanks in advance.

DogHouse
    I'm no expert on carbs or Qjets, but I was under the impression that most of the Qjets were the same, around 800ish cfm, small primaries, big vacuum operated secondaries. Could be wrong though...
    The Mirage is a good 3 blade prop and should give good top end numbers if it's the right size. If the boat is having slip problems out of the hole or blowout during sharp low speed turns, a 4 blade Bravo might help. The 4 blade can also settle high speed manners as well but you would likely lose a mph or two.
    -brian

Terminal Velocity
    "I'm no expert on carbs or Qjets, but I was under the impression that most of the Qjets were the same, around 800ish cfm, small primaries, big vacuum operated secondaries. Could be wrong though...
    The Mirage is a good 3 blade prop and should give good top end numbers if it's the right size. If the boat is having slip problems out of the hole or blowout during sharp low speed turns, a 4 blade Bravo might help. The 4 blade can also settle high speed manners as well but you would likely lose a mph or two."
    Thanks DH. That's what I was thinking around 800. But it just seems to not have enough out of the hole. I didn't get a chance to put another carb on it this weekend so I'll have to do it in a couple of weeks when I get back into town and see if I can get it any better.