Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Best Marine Battery

NorCalCat
    What is the best marine battery? I know it should be a deep cycle, but what do you all recomend and where to buy?

NorCalCat
    If you're talking about strictly for starting, it couldn't matter less. Anything from a reputable company with enough cranking power to start your rig. I prefer maintenance free myself, due to the heat where we use the boat. Optimas blue tops are always a good choice.
    I was looking at that one, they have 3 different bleu tops. Which one? Will they fit in the Dana Billet battery case?

acatitude
    Im no battery expert, but I have one cranking battery and 1 deep cycle. I play the stereo on the deep cycle then switch to both to start after a long floating period.

DJ Sound Technique
    I have dual Optima blue tops and they work great.
    I played my system at moderate volume yesterday for almost 4 hours and still started the boat on that battery!

gmocnik
    topic should get varied comments. i experienced battery failure this weekend. sort of broke my "replace every two years regardless" philosophy. was using an interstate deep cycle and a west marine 100mca cranking battery (low end batteries) one died and took the other with it...a friend offered his odyssey as a temporary...this thing had some cranking power...
    they are pricey but i might have to spend the money and try the newer technology...

NorCalCat
    Dana part BB-020 will fit an Optima Blue Top D34M I BELIEVE.
    Do they have the treaded post for a wing nutt?
    What is the advantage to have a cranking battery if I have 3. 2 deep cycle and one cranking? Shouldn't 3 deep cycles be ample?

a catered life
    I have dual Optima blue tops and they work great.
    I played my system at moderate volume yesterday for almost 4 hours and still started the boat on that battery!
    blue tops do the job and costo has the best price and a awesome return system

Flying Tiger