Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: OMC tilt/trim problem

gfunk3546
    hey everyone i have a 3.8L GM OMC stern drive. this is my first boat and i'm new to the whole world of boating. i was going to go last saturday so friday night i went out and started her up and everything was fine. shut her off and the tilt and trim went out. i messed around with a bunch of stuff ordered a new tilt trim motor installed it and still nothing. i can't get the outdrive up so i can even tow it to someone who knows something about boats. any ideas? suggestions? sink it maybe?

Cole Sanger
    Does it make any noise when you push the up/down button? If not, could be as simple as a fuse. Were you having any problems with the trim before this trip? Moving slowly, or making any funny noises?

DMOORE
    Cole had a good point. Make sure you are getting power to the pump. Use a test light at the pump, if no power, check for a blown fuse or tripped breaker. If fuse and breakers are also good, check for power at the switch with the test light. If pump is working Make sure the fluid level is good and you bleed it properly,(usually by running it up and down a couple of times). If all else fails and you can't figure it out, you can unbolt one end of the hyd cylinders and use a heavy duty tie down connected to the rear D rings to hold the drive up in order to take it to a shop. Let us know what you find out.
    Darrell.

Kim Hanson
    If the pump hums, it is just starving for fluid..lift the leg up with whatever you can and fill the reservoir, move it up and down and fill till full...done deal...( . )( . ).............

HocusPocus
    i had a problem like that on an omc i had.. turned out the hydraulic rams were bad and fluid was being pushed out. i think it was about $60 bucks each to have them rebuilt.

Outnumbered