Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: BBF oiling problems

llepd
    I have a bbf that keeps losing oil pressure, after hard runs. spun bearings on one last year. changed to 10 qt rr sump pan, high volume pump, windage tray and last weekend lose oil preasure again have not torn down yet but suspect same thing. Any ideas? I'm new to jet boats. here is my theory jets are not made for long runs and when catching air it over loads the engine causing bearing failure. open for ideas. Don't what change to chevy this year.

hack job
    do you have any idea what your oil temp is after your wide open runs? also what kind of rpm are you running it at. on a side note loading and unloading your pump is not goof for the motor or the pump.

llepd
    do you have any idea what your oil temp is after your wide open runs? also what kind of rpm are you running it at. on a side note loading and unloading your pump is not goof for the motor or the pump.
    DON'T HAVE OIL TEMP GAUGE, WATER TEMP 140 TURNING 5000.

Danhercules
    In my old boat, (BBF) when I would make WOT runs for 2 min I would watch the oil press. After a bit the pressure would drop a few psi, I then let off and cruised nice a slow to cool the oil back down. Oil temp would be a good idea.

Check your crank journals, there are some cranks out there that are not exactly round, and really mess with your oil pressure.

To get to the root of your problem, an little more detail is needed. When you say you "lose" oil pressure, how low does it go, does it come back up as the oil cools, and how many quarts are you running in your 10 qt pan? It often helps running it a quart low to keep from aerating the oil. Your problem can be that, oil temp breaking down the viscosity, running a Fram filter, or all of the above.

llepd