Page 1 of 10 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: water pressure to engine

Mark Sims
    I did a search on this but it was not much help. I have a pressure relief valve between the pump and the motor that I adjusted to 3-5 psi at idle through the no wake zone which warms the motor up by the time I get up on plane. At crusing speed the pressure is 10-12 psi and a temp of 150- 160 all day long. When I hammer it the pressure shoots to 35 psi where the guage bottoms out. The boat runs great, no water in the oil, valve covers are clean inside. I was wondering if this pressure is normal. If I adjust the pressure valve any more it will start bypassing water at idle. The pump is blueprinted and I'm afraid I'll blow a head gasket. It will idle at 180 forever except for blueing the headers. Everything seems fine but that 35 psi scares me. Any ideas from you jet experts?

GlastronGuy
    I am no jet expert but 35 seems high. I run mine at 12 as per Mondello's recommendation.
    Olds 455 with logs.

35 is high. Engines are designed to run at 12-20 lb block pressure. You may get away with a little more (at least for awhile). This is why radiatior caps on your cars are set to blow off at pressures within this range. Typically the first thing to blow gasket wise will be the water passage through the intake from my experience of listening to problems people have had. Depending on the type of head gasket they may blow water as well. Hope this helps.

sidewound
    Woah!
    This is somthing I havn't considered. I'm losing the waterpump on my 455 this build and installing a blockoff cover. What kind of valving, regulation, and gauging is required when making the switch. NOBODY TOLD ME THIS!!! AAAAAAHHH! What else. I already need a whatsis, a thingamajig, a doodad, and a hooter dooter. What else does the goddess require? I think she wants blood. Old boats are a pain in the WALLET! Help

GlastronGuy
    There are different ways to do it. This will give you a start.