Thread: She wont fire?....73' Olds 455

avenger73
    I'm new to the Boating world....been lurking on this forum for awhile ...lol...
    I just pulled the Old Avenger out (after 10 months of storage,... our boating season is tooo short lol ) and changed the oil,charged the battery,hooked up the water and she just wont fire??...Thought maybe fuel,..so I chucked some down the carb still nothing! Pulled #1 plug and got the wife to crank it over....nothing....no spark at all!!! Not even a weak spark!...
    It is old,... its got points on it which I know nothing about...
    One friend asked if I left the batt hooked up while it was stored?....I DID leave it hooked up...He said that might have caused a problem...but what kind of problem?....
    I had other "friends" messing with the coil saying it might be bad... they changed it out with one that did not need the resistor,...now Im not sure if they put the wires back to the proper spots on the resistor and such when they put the old coil back on.
    Now I have to make sure everything is back to the way it sould be.....then back to the original problem...lol...
    Any ideas would be greatly appreciated!!
    Thanks again Guys!
    AVENGER.

TANGO
    Find yourself any old boy that grew up with point dist.back in the 50s to 70s and he can have that thing running in 5 min. Tango

Lucky7