Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I'd like to ask a setup question

I've done alot of work to the boat over the past years, and this year I sprung to have a professional set the pump back for me. A buddy of mine did some setup work on it for me and got my speed up pretty good with no adverse handling traits, so I'm pretty happy with that. I'm the type that can't leave well enough alone though, so here's what I've got now.
    Pump setback approx 3"
    speedloader
    flatcut shoe 1/8" or .120" above the keel line
    rideplate set at 4.7 degrees up referenced to shoe
    Place Diverter droop snoot and diverter
    3 degree up wedge
    I'm new to all this setup stuff, but I'm playing with shoe shims right now. I made my first set last night. I've got two that are approx .060 thickness each. They turned out pretty good and I've continued the angle of the shoe to the shim so there's no edge for the water to catch on. I've only installed one to see what it's gonna do.
    When do I know if I've got too much shoe in the water? Not enough? Will I feel a drag when I get off the gas if it's too much?
    Right now, when I get off the gas it just glides for what seems like forever, so I'm thinking maybe dropping it some might help. It also loses suction if I hit any sizeable wave.
    Is .060 going to be enough? .120 too much?
    Thanks in advance to anyone who can enlighten me some here, or tell me what to expect.
    Oh yeah, the boat is a semi-v 18.5'
    [ April 16, 2003, 09:08 PM: Message edited by: Squirtcha? ]

MAXIMUS