Thread: Bilge Pump for Tunnel Hull

PC Rat
    How do you guys with tunnel hull boats bilge out the center? I only have 2 inches between the pump and the tunnels, so my bilge pump is beside the oil pan. A lot of water gets in there before I can bilge it out. Is there some kind of pump that will suck through a hose, so I can run the hose to the back? Any other ideas, or know of a really small diameter bilge pump?
    Thanks,
    Brian

572Daytona
    I have a Jabsco diaphragm pump on mine - http://www.jabsco.com/diapbilg.asp It mounts on the transom with just a hose with a strainer running down into the bilge between the pump and the stringer, here is a picture, you can see the pump on the far right side of the picture in the middle, one hose goes down into the bilge, the other out a thru hull fitting

bp
    pc, you're pump is set back, isn't it?? i have my bilge pump sitting on the front of the jet intake. works ok, but 572's idea sounds great too. i just don't have the room to mount a pump where he did...

fat rat
    Mine sits in front of the motor!

LVjetboy
    PC Rat,
    Here's a dual 500 GPH install on a PC:

Left pump staggered forward so right pump is primary and left is backup. The hose loops at the top effectively raise the outlet to the top of the rear deck...less drainback when hull angled on the beach even with the outlets just above deck part level and jet skis f*cking around. Duckbill drains on side sponsons.
    jer
    [ July 22, 2002, 09:19 PM: Message edited by: LVjetboy ]

PC Rat
    My pump is not set back. So a bilge pump will not fit between the intake and engine.