Thread: 557 short block

What I have to work with is a 557cid chevy. Bowtie block tall deck, crower rotating assembly, enternally balanced. Initially it was set up to run a blower on alcohol. With a zero deckheight, 4.5 bore and 4.375 stroke would it be possible to run the blower deal on gas? Even with 130cc heads and .040 gasket the compression ratio is about 8.9:1. Are larger combustion chambers an option? The pistons are Ross blower with a single valve relief aprox 3cc's. I want to be able to run some respectable boost on gas, not limited to a narrow window. I do'nt want to change pistons. At this point alcohol seems like a pain in the ass with a lake boat, but may be what I will end up doing. I'm by no means an engine expert. All opinions and suggestions welcome.

Fiat48
    I'll try here. Most alcohol deals are about 11 to 1. I have run 12.5 to 1. Alcohol doesen't care and you can run clear down to 7 to 1, maybe lower. But you do get some oil dilution at lower ratio's like that. I wouldn't consider blown alcohol carbureation so that means injected and yes it is a little pain in the ass for the lake. But, you'll never go back to gas!
    That said, most guys like 8 to 1 or lower for blown gas. Several ways you can approach lowering this Cr. One way is thicker head gaskets and larger bore diameter head gaskets. Another way is to have a machinest offset bush the pin end of the rod to move the piston in the hole, thus lowering your compression ratio. Are you sure your heads are 130CC's? I have formulas and can caculate your compression ratio options of head gaskets or lowering the piston in the bore. I need to know your present deck height and actual combustion chamber cc's.