Thread: Diverter & Newbie advice needed

Rollie66
    Newbie here,
    I just rescued a Spectra 18 with a BBF 460 from a family member. It is in reasonable shape. the body and gel coat look really good. I just rebuilt the Holly 750 double pumper and installed a new starter. The engine seems strong for the 15 seconds I run it. I have 3 questions.
    1. It has a Berk 12jc pump. the pump has a diverter on it. the diverter reads domminator jet on the end. It seems to have only a small amount of movemment. The family member who ran the boat insists the unit is only a trim adjuster. I think it needs some tlc. It has an 7 position lever to the right of the driver. Anyone know about this unit. Is it out of adjustment? should I replace with a place diverter?
    2. How do I disconnect the pump drive from the engine. Is this simple or a major amount of work.
    3. It has an old single point dist. Is the pertronix II a good upgrade for the $.
    Thank You for any help

BrendellaJet
    Congrats on the purchase!
    I think AT makes a diverter.
    Sounds like you need an adjustment to the cable or a new one?
    Depending on the spacing, you can unbolt the universal joing connecting the motor and pump. Its not hard, but can be a little time consuming, a jet away is a nice fix for being able to disconnect(or atleast allow the motor to run without turning the jet, but its pricey)
    In my experience the pertronix ignitors work very well.

GM Killer
    My advice....Jetboatguru is the "man" to ask. He will not steer ya wrong or give ya some BS

napabob
    You can also post your Spectra questions at:
    http://www.spectramarine.com/

FoMoCo
    Does the movement for the trim happen inside the nozzle? If so I think that its the Original Dominator trim. Its kind of like a Place diverter but the whole nozzle does not move just a piece inside the nozzle. They work OK, I had a buddy that ran one on an Daytona.

Rollie66