Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Getting exhaust log to seal???

JT2Fast4U
    Hi All... Sorry for all the questions lately, but I'm new to all this boating stuff.
    I'm tryin to get my aluminum "Hardin Marine" exhaust logs to seal. I have the thick (.043) copper gaskets for it, but it's still not sealing. Is there any kind of sealent that can be put on the gaskets to help it seal? The old gaskets (non-copper) had some kind of black sealer on them & it seemed to work, because it wasn't leaking before I took them off. Also, can these logs be re-surfaced or something at a machine shop? Thanks again everyone for helping me out. It's really appreciated. Thank you...JT2Fast4u

JetBoatRich
    I had the same problem, put a straight edge across it and you could see the high and low spots.
    Took a long flat file and very slowly, was able to smooth it down making sure not to take to much off and we kept checking with a straight edge and feeler guage.
    Good luck

AZKC
    I resurfaced mine and seemed to work great for a while but then they started leaking again. But thats my luck

Ken F
    I had the same problem with mine on a BBF. Fought it for several years. One solution which seemed to work pretty well, though not for too long, was to take and run a 1/4" bead of orange hi-heat silicone gasket sealer around the flanges on the logs. Let it sit overnight, then put them on. It would work for about a month.
    Finally, I ordered a set of Earls header gaskets. Solved the problem.
    http://www.racehome.com/productofthemonthjuly.htm
    Ken F

1978 Rogers
    I seal mine as Ken said. I put a small bead of Permatex hi temp sealant on the manafolds. This is what the previous owner had done. I don't have an actual gasket between the head and manifold. I installed my manifold with the bolts hand tight with the sealant wet. This would allow the sealant to adhear to both surfaces. I snuggd them up after 24 hours after it had set up.

JT2Fast4U