PDA

View Full Version : Boat registration?

prop check
07-23-2004, 08:52 AM
In California if you buy a new boat is there a grace period before it has to be registered?

jbtrailerjim
07-23-2004, 08:59 AM
I'd register the boat in Arizona. So, you don't have to pay property tax on it every year.

Havasu_Dreamin
07-23-2004, 09:12 AM
Originally posted by jbtrailerjim
I'd register the boat in Arizona. So, you don't have to pay property tax on it every year.
Yeah, what he said.

Havasu Cig
07-23-2004, 09:28 AM
Make sure you do an out of state delivery or else California will still come after you.
On my last DCB I did an out of state delivery, the boat was never used in California, the boat was registered to my house in Havasu, and I payed AZ sales tax on it at the time of purchase.
Well California still came after me for sales tax because I am a California resident. They ended up dropping the demand for $$$ after I provided them with all the above info, but the bastards still tryed.:mad:

clownpuncher
07-23-2004, 09:32 AM
I know this has been beat to death already, but I forgot what the outcome was........It's getting that age for me.........
I store my boat in AZ, probably always will. Don't have a house there yet but I keep it in a boat storage in Parker.
Can I re-register in AZ and be on the up-n-up?

phebus
07-23-2004, 09:34 AM
As long as you use that boat 51% of the time in Az.

clownpuncher
07-23-2004, 09:37 AM
Yep. It's either Parker, Blythe or Havasu on 99% of the trips. Thanks

Essex502
07-23-2004, 09:43 AM
Originally posted by clownpuncher
I know this has been beat to death already, but I forgot what the outcome was........It's getting that age for me.........
I store my boat in AZ, probably always will. Don't have a house there yet but I keep it in a boat storage in Parker.
Can I re-register in AZ and be on the up-n-up?