PDA

View Full Version : Not the first Magic to be duplicated, just the fastest!

CJ
08-05-2004, 10:31 PM
Well after almost a week and many people calling me asking why the picture of my boat was down and my excitement gone I guess I should post my story. I didnÂ’t mean to hype it too much as it is simple, however important. Thanks for all the support and help with my research on my new boat search. I have a couple in mind and will keep all my friends updated.
I commissioned Magic/Sleekcraft/Power Marine to build me a new custom 28Â’ Magic Cat. In discussing the deal, I took a week of every free moment to come up with a custom design, one that I havenÂ’t seen on the water. I am not an artist so I hired Randy at Rock & Roll Customs in Fullerton, CA, to complete my thoughts and bring it all together. He did an AWESOME job for not a whole lot of money. The design was perfect! I suggest you talk to him if you want a cool design, unless you want to use it on a Magic as he might not do it for you. Tell him I sent you.
I handed the design over to Magic to begin the build of my boat. They loved it which encouraged me even more. They knew how hard I had worked on the design and how bad I wanted to be as original as possible. We even discussed that I did not want to have it copied or become an OEM design. They made me comfortable it would not happen.
Exactly one week after the boat came out of the mold, I was able to get out there to see it and was not at all happy with the quality of the gel coat. The design was misaligned on the port side by half an inch from bow to stern. They told me that the rub rail would hide the blemishes which should be true to some extent. And strange color blends were painted along the seam causing a strange continuation of color from top to bottom. The top an bottom of the rear which was to be all blue didnÂ’t match, however that may have been due to the pearl in the paint and the angle of viewing.