PDA

View Full Version : No up trim

beyondhelpin
08-08-2004, 12:47 PM
HELP!!!!!!!!!
Yesterday at the lake my up trim quit working. My trailer up button still works (button for full up for trailering). I hear the up silenoid working when I hit the trailer button. Does this mean that it can only be the wiring or the trim rocker switch? The down button works fine.
If it is the buton does anyone know the right way to take off the the throttle handle. I would imagine there is a few things in there that could get jacked up if I am not carefull.
I have a poker run next weekend to go to and I am sure I cant get it into and out of the shop by Saturday. It is a 94 7.4 Merc.

Scream
08-08-2004, 12:49 PM
The trim button on the throttle will only work to about 1/2 way, which means there must be a limit switch or position sensor that tells the system when the throttle trim is at full up. Perhaps that position switch or sensor is stuck?
I'm no mechanic, so I thought I'd throw that out there.

Kilrtoy
08-08-2004, 12:52 PM
Happen to me on my old boat.
5 dollar part 150 labor
Sikmple fix if you can do it yourself....
button went bad...

Kachina26
08-08-2004, 12:52 PM
The trim button on the throttle will only work to about 1/2 way, which means there must be a limit switch or position sensor that tells the system when the throttle trim is at full up. Perhaps that position switch or sensor is stuck?
I'm no mechanic, so I thought I'd throw that out there.
You're on the right track scream, check the wires on the trim limit sensor. It is bolted to the left side of the gimbal ring. The wires on the indicator on my old boat broke more than once. Also check the screws that hold the sensor on, if they came loose then you may be out of adjustment.

beyondhelpin
08-08-2004, 01:06 PM