View Full Version : mr 460 i need advice

jimmmyb
06-18-2001, 06:26 PM
mr 460 i just got a 78 sanger hydro (jet),
let me start by saying i am not a mechanic,
i do know a little about motors.the hydro i
have has a 460 with tunnel ram basic stock
motor, pump has had work done two it blueprint,
b4 i got boat prev owner had a built motor in it untill he granaded it. with the the stock 460 the boat will do approx 60 mph
i want to put a blower or nitros on it,
can i put a blower on it with out doing anything to bottom end? iam looking for just
alittle more speed but mostly just for show & sound u no babe magnet. owner told me might be hard to locate blower manifold for 460 ford. if it can be done do have may be a ball park figure on how much monies will be leaving my wallet. thanks mr.460 4 the help.

turbo
06-18-2001, 06:42 PM
hamptonblowers.com has your manifold, I just checked 800.00 bucks.

Bubbledeck
06-18-2001, 08:19 PM
buying a blower to put on your boat as a "babe magnet" is kind of expensive. I think I'd opt for a potato in my swim trunks at about .49 a lb. 75 cents would probably buy you all you need. Just remember it goes in front LOL

rstover1
06-19-2001, 05:12 PM
jimmy you should talk to slowboat001 he is racing a hydro jet he could give you advice on putting alot of hp in a jet hydro

Rivertoys_com
06-19-2001, 08:48 PM
A show blower can be done w/o any other engine work if you remove the turbines from the inside of the blower housing. Still run the pulley and belt of course, just use it in place of your tunnel-ram. Then pick up a gear drive for the cam, Edlebrock has cut their 460 gear drives for 'more noise'. The gear drive runs about $250.
I may put a gear drive on my 460 next winter, I want to change the cam timing anyway and gear drives sound cool!
Jason.

mister460
06-20-2001, 10:46 AM