PDA

View Full Version : El Toro Airport???

H20Advantage
11-24-2004, 07:53 AM
Did anyone catch the bit on the news about someone trying to backdoor an initiative which would override the peoples vote against an airport at El Toro and start the building process.
I walked in on the last part of the news story and did not get the details. Imagine what this could do to housing prices in OC. :( Much less the traffic and air/noise pollution we would get.

welk2party
11-24-2004, 07:55 AM
Did anyone catch the bit on the news about someone trying to backdoor an initiative which would override the peoples vote against an airport at El Toro and start the building process.
I walked in on the last part of the news story and did not get the details. Imagine what this could do to housing prices in OC. :( Much less the traffic and air/noise pollution we would get.
Not that I am an expert on the subject, and I do not mean to stir the pot, but was there not already noise pollution when the base was operating? Traffic...it already sucks! Just tossing my .02 in.

H20Advantage
11-24-2004, 08:17 AM
There was and now it is very quiet. Even with the military base you had sporatic movement in mass and usually quiet at night . Don't think they could do that with an international airport. Planes 24/7 coming and going.
We live next door to Irvine and since the planes are gone so is the layer of black soot on our cars and anything else setting outside. Probably breathing the stuff in also. I could also see a big drop in house prices around here. The OC airport is bad enough with the excessive noise.

nodigg
11-24-2004, 08:42 AM
Where did you here this? I thought it was all over with? I'm ready for the giant park to open up. Of course, I would like to see a private/light air craft runway for personal reasons................. :D I'm right next door to the base.

H20Advantage
11-24-2004, 08:52 AM