PDA

View Full Version : GM 5.3 Water Pump Failures

mtndewdrops
02-15-2005, 06:57 AM
Ours just went out on our '01 Yukon XL at 48K miles. A guy at work said his only lasted 36K on his pickup.
Lets hear your story :(

mrgoslow
02-15-2005, 07:08 AM
an attorney or you glass isnt really always half full. suck it up. its four years old.

mtndewdrops
02-16-2005, 08:23 AM
No Sorry, I'm an Engineer not an Attorney.
Hey, A bad water pump is better than a bad transmission...that is the half full part. ;)
Just wanted to see if anyone else had the same problem. :D

Flying Tiger
02-21-2005, 05:57 AM
My friends with fleets say replace the water pump, fuel pump and alternator on your american trucks before 60k for reliability.
When it starts having a hard start problem it's the fuel pump.
65k on my gmc waterpump, no probs.
Did you have complete seal failure, or did the weep telltale tip you off?
My Toyota has 400,000 on it's water pump, can't see why the Yank trucks can't get the same.

cdog
02-21-2005, 08:43 AM
A little off topic but.... I bought a 93 toyota 4x4 V6 in 1996 with 50k miles on it and it was a piece of She it. The head gaskets blew out at 65k miles and they did'nt tell me about the recall untill after I bought and installed the 350 dollar head gasket kit. Then the water pump went out, then there was scalling on the cylinders so the whole damm engine needed to be replaced or rebuilt. They ended up fixing it for me but it took 6 weeks and I could'nt get a rental car because I was 20.