PDA

View Full Version : Opinions on a 5th wheel

Todd969
03-23-2005, 11:32 AM
My wife and I are days away from making a 5th wheel purchase. We are torn between the Montana and Wilderness AX6, both are loaded ( dual air, nice furniture, R18 insulation, etc )
Anyone have experience with either?

nodigg
03-23-2005, 11:40 AM
I have been days away from making a toy box purchase for months now. We started with a 19 foot hitch cheepo type for the Avalanche and are now looking at the 5th wheel type high end units, (had to buy a Duramax also)....I have no experience with what you are looking at but man do I empathize with what you are going thru! :D

Todd969
03-23-2005, 11:46 AM
No doubt Rick, We buy a boat when my wife sees purple carpet, buy a cobra for the seats and the last 2 weeks have been hell trying to figure out which trailer will provide us comfort and quality. Buying a house was easier.

oldbuck40
03-23-2005, 11:48 AM
wilderness is a pos!!! i had one for 1 year and it really did fall apart! as soon as you hit the off road headed to camp on any uneven ground the slide on the slideout will get looser and eventually not seal when closed! another thing i did learn on campers in general is spend more $$$ and buy somthing that doesnt have a rubber roof! wilderness has a rubber roof and the first tree limb you hit its history,,then you have a leak in the roof,then rotted wood,i could go on and on,,,save your self the trouble and buy somthing with a fiberglass or aluminum roof!!!

nodigg
03-23-2005, 11:57 AM
I know what you mean, I"m looking at the weights, the features, the capacity, the axles, the wife goes stricly by the appearance. lol!
I'm pretty sure we left the entry level and are now settling on a weekend warrior with a lifetime warranty.

Wild Horses
03-23-2005, 01:09 PM