PDA

View Full Version : Diesel EGT Question problem

sigepmock
07-08-2005, 07:40 AM
Need some help here. Just installed the Banks cat back exhaust on my 05 Dmax and the EGT's went up!!???!!
Cruising on the freeway went from below 800 to right at 1000 and when I get on it I can get the EGT up to 1400 :eek: . Never saw anything over 1200 with the stock exhaust.
Here's a partial pic of the exhaust:
http://www.hotboatpics.com/pics/data/500/5495rear_shocks-med.JPG
The Banks kit looks nice, no obvious restrictions, nice clean bends, looks like it should flow better than stock.
Shouldn't the EGT's have dropped with better exhaust flow? Could the muffler be causing a restriction causing higher EGT's?
Or am I missing something.....I'm kinda new to this Oilburning thing. :confused:
I'm going to pull the muffler and run it straight and see if the egt's drop as a test. I'm just stumped so far???
Thanks,
Chris

riverbound
07-08-2005, 07:48 AM
Your EGT's should go down with the exhaust. Are you running a cat or is it just a muffler.
Mine is 4" from the turbo back with a straight through muffler.

sigepmock
07-08-2005, 07:51 AM
Cat back only. I've been told you can't go Turbo back on the LLY's with out using Finger stick or you'll throw codes.

PHX ATC
07-08-2005, 08:26 AM
Is your cat plugged?
Is your muffler on the right direction? Sounds like I'm slamming you, but I'm not...I almost put mine on backwards...there is a directional flow on some of them, so you might check.
EGT gauge grounded properly? It sounds like it's okay, but might warrant a check.
Do you have a chip on your Duramax? If so, what setting? It might be sending too much fuel, thereby too much power (temp goes up) that the stock exhaust in front of the cat can handle. In other words, the most restrictive portion of you exhaust (head to cat) might not let it flow as much as it should with your other mods (if any). Do you have an aftermarket air filter? If not, maybe that would be your next upgrade.

djunkie