PDA

View Full Version : Fosgate Help...

Outnumbered
08-09-2005, 08:06 PM
I posted this in the A/V section too but was looking for a quick answer:
I have an unknown model Fosgate that keeps shutting down. I think its from heat because it is in a poorly ventilated area. Could also be possible that it is low voltage. I have a JL 500/1 in the same mounting area that has never shut down. I was thinking of taking out the Fosgate and replacing it with a JL 450/4. Does this sound like a good idea or should I keep the Fosgate and get a fan? The Fosgate is running 4 JL 6.5s on the rear and 2 Infinity Kappa 6x9s on the fronts.
Here are pics of the Fosgate. Does anyone know what model it is?
Thanks
http://www2.***boat.com/image_center/data/500/973P8080070.JPG http://www2.***boat.com/image_center/data/500/973P8080069.JPG

jbone
08-09-2005, 08:42 PM
I'm no audio expert, but I have the Punch 4004 pushing 4 Infinity Kappa 6x9's and a Punch 5002 bridged pushing one 12" Fosgate sub.
I have the amps under the rear bench seat. There is NO ventilation at all and I push it to full capacity for hours in extreme heat (116) 3 weeks ago. Neither amp has ever shut down due to overheating.
I mounted the amps about an inch off the floor though. This may help in cooling.
J

KACHINA KEN
08-09-2005, 08:45 PM
How are they wired? What ohm load are you bringing it down to?

jbone
08-09-2005, 08:51 PM
I went to the Fosgate website and it looks like that was a Power series amp.
Check this link.
http://www.rockfordfosgate.com/ez2/ModelInfo/ModelInfo.asp?ItemKey=10061239&CategoryDesc=Power%20Amplifiers
You mentioned JL Audio. If your gonna replace your amp, you can't go wrong with JL.
J

Outnumbered
08-09-2005, 08:58 PM
How are they wired? What ohm load are you bringing it down to?
4ohms on the fronts and 2 ohms on the rears. Its a 4-channel amp.

Outnumbered
08-09-2005, 09:03 PM
I went to the Fosgate website and it looks like that was a Power series amp.
Check this link.