PDA

View Full Version : RV Fridge Help

Sleek-Jet
09-08-2005, 07:11 AM
OK, so I'm getting the TT ready for the lake this weekend. For various reasons, the rig hasn't been used in about 18 months. In light of that, I pulled it over to an camping spot from the storage area and plug it in to turn everything on and check things out.
I'm worried about the fridge. I turned it on for a half hour or so, and the fins inside never got cool to the touch. I went outside and checked, the boiler was hot. This was all on AC power, not propane. FYI, it's a Dometic double door fridge. 2.5 years old (yes, just out of waranty).
My question is this; After a fridge has been sitting for a while, how long does it take for things to start cooling down??? Is 30 minutes enough or do I need to allow more time to get the coolent circulating through the system???

Mrs. Bordsmnj
09-08-2005, 07:16 AM
I am no expert at all but the fridge in our motie takes forever to cool down. And when its on AC, ours has to be turned to the coldest setting in order to work.
:)

9er
09-08-2005, 07:21 AM
Yeah, ours takes a couple hours. I also had a breaker trip from the outside outlet and shut the whole thing down too. We had to hit the GFI in the bathroom.
All I hear is if the condenser thing is hot, it's working on propane I think. If you smell ammonia in that compartment, you've got probs.
Those things aren't cheap to replace so I'd really look into it.

JB in so cal
09-08-2005, 07:24 AM
After you turn it on and wait (for however long) touch the BOTTOM of the freezer. That'll be the very first place it gets cold to the touch.
RV fridges aren't like home jobbies. The cold surrounds the box rather than cold air pushed around.

Sleek-Jet
09-08-2005, 07:25 AM
Cool... (no pun intended).
I'll try it on propane this evening and leave it for a few hours, see what happens. I didn't have full tanks, so I had them in the back of the truck to go fill up.