PDA

View Full Version : Legal advise on trees and property...........

Nord
11-12-2005, 06:34 PM
O.k heres the rundown...
I have a slope that runs to the back of my property where I have a couple trees..
My trees are tall, and about 25 feet up, there are a couple of branches hanging over on this property. They aren't touching anything nor are they a bother.
I think I'm responsable for cutting them back, but does anyone know??
Here is the other thing......
My neighbor on the side of me has trees that the roots have lifted our entire fence. How much of the fence is he liable to replace. Do I have to pay for any of it??? His roots are all the way on my side and one of the main posts to the fence is now pushed in to a 45 degree angle on my side...
What should I do?

mike37
11-12-2005, 06:48 PM
call your local building department and ask them
if they don't handle it they will point you in the right direction

Outnumbered
11-12-2005, 06:48 PM
I am not a legal expert but this is the way I hear it should be:
You should pay to have your tree trimmed if it is crossing the property line even if it is not touching the ground (unless your neighbor is OK with it the way it is).
I would try to split the cost of the wall thing just to stay on good terms. You let it go too long and it could turn into a feud now that the damage is so severe. Technically, if the wall is on your property, he should pay. If its on the property line than it should be split, etc. Rather than go thru the cost and confrontation to have a survey done and point blame, I would just ask the guy to go in with you on the repair cost.

21rayson
11-12-2005, 06:49 PM
talk to him and see if you two can come to a agreement. and as far as the fence issue thats normally a 50/50. good luck.

Boatcop
11-12-2005, 06:50 PM
Trees on your property. Your trees.