PDA

View Full Version : Need advice on a dirt bike for my kid...

Scarab Jet
11-20-2005, 10:40 PM
Thinkin' about getting a dirt bike for my 10 year old son for x-mas so he can start riding it out in the desert. Given the fact that he has never ridden a motorcycle (all he has had, have been bicycles and has had a chance to occasionally ride quads), what type/model/size do you guys recommend for him?
He is about 4 and a half feet tall and weights about 60 pounds... He is all arms and legs...
I wanna get him something that is made well and is reliable, but hopefully not too expensive (I know... expensive is relative). At any rate, I am also wondering whether I should get him one with a clutchless semi-auto transmission or one with clutch... Since it is his first, I don't want him to get intimidated by using the clutch and all...
I sure appreciate all the advice...
Mike...

76ANTHONY
11-20-2005, 10:43 PM
im no expert but, its pretty easy to teach a 10 year old how to use a clutch. they pick it up quick cause its cool, that and they enjoy poppin the old wheelies :D :D

76ANTHONY
11-20-2005, 10:47 PM
oh and if you get a 50cc, dont invite mainevent over :D :D
i've been lookin into the chinese bikes, i wonder if they are any good, they are 4 strokes, so they might be a little under powered

topless
11-21-2005, 12:35 AM
I have a 50 that I got for my son a few years back. He has since outgrown it but it has a clutch and it was never a problem for him.

RidinRed
11-21-2005, 01:33 AM
We started ours at about 10 or 11. Went to a XR 100, 4 stroke & mild enough to learn but bg enough to ride for awhile. Biggest error (imo) is too small and they outgrow the bike. then it's another couple grand. I also believe they are so popular, unless you know somebody getting rid of One, you might as well buy new. they hold value pretty well.
my .02

Wyoming
11-21-2005, 03:22 AM