PDA

View Full Version : Need help on my first boat

tomx
06-25-2006, 11:20 PM
I found a deal in my area,
http://portland.craigslist.org/boa/175140389.html
Do you think it's a good boat?
I'm new to boating. What's the advantage and disadvantage of a jetboat?
I'm looking for a boat that,
1. small enough to be towed by my 98 camry (V6)
2. Sits 2 adults and 1 or 2 kids
3. can do water ski
It looks like this boat meets all. What do you think. Thank you very much.
All the best,
Tom

Tom Brown
06-25-2006, 11:31 PM
http://www.seadoo.com/NR/rdonlyres/60E38AE9-24DC-452B-AFD0-094C31CDE907/0/header.jpg
Forget towing a big block jet with a V6 Camry. I tow a 16' Glastron CVX outboard with a Nissan Maxima. The rig on the trailer weighs about 1500 lbs. The Maxi just barely pulls it.
Japanese cars have plenty of power but you'll cook your transaxle unless you put a big cooler on there and maybe even then.
Oh yeah... you'll need trailer brakes for anything other than a PWC.

tomx
06-26-2006, 10:53 AM
Tom,
Thank you very much for the reply. This is the thing I have most concerns and don't really understand. According to my camry's manual, the towing capacity is 2000lb. The boat is about 1000lb (keep in mind that it's only 14' long). So it looks OK to me. But I have the impression from other people that this might damage the car. Is it true or not?
Thanks again.
Tom

Gilligan
06-26-2006, 11:04 AM
Tom,
Thank you very much for the reply. This is the thing I have most concerns and don't really understand. According to my camry's manual, the towing capacity is 2000lb. The boat is about 1000lb (keep in mind that it's only 14' long). So it looks OK to me. But I have the impression from other people that this might damage the car. Is it true or not?
Thanks again.
Tom
Cars are not tow vehicles. :)

OGShocker
06-26-2006, 11:12 AM
Way to go Tom Brown, being all helpful......and shit!:D
TomX, I agree with Tom here.

buzzaro
06-26-2006, 03:56 PM
Tom,
Thanks again.
Tom