PDA

View Full Version : Does this sound legit?

SFV2RVR
10-15-2006, 06:02 PM
OK...here's the deal. Im selling my truck on the internet, and this is an e-mail that I got sent to me in reguards to buying my truck. What do you guys think? It sounds like a scam to me!
Hello,
Thanks for your immediate response. Asking price is okay. Presently I am off the shores of Angola where I work as a Drilling Engineer on the coastal explorations with Exxon Mobil Oilfields. So I will need to ask a colleague from my home town in Texas to send you a Cashier's Check. Please send me your address, full name and telephone number so that I can instruct my colleague to send you the Check. Since that is the only means of payment I can offer now due to my present location. Do not bother about the shipping to Angola I have a shipping agent who will come over to the USA to ship some of my items from my home in Texas so he would also come over to your house for pick up of the truck. Please reply ASAP.
Regards,
Jim
P.S: Please send some pictures

YeLLowBoaT
10-15-2006, 06:08 PM
its a scam... if you really want to mess with the guy... tell him you work for exxon mobil... ask him whats his location and employee numbers so you can have it taken out of his check...

soupersonic
Sounds like a new twist on an old scam. :)

deltaAce
Those are the most hokie of scams ever. Iv'e seen several variations of
that stupid stuff. I sent a reply to one before pretending to sound interested,
but they never replied back. See if you can scam them back, or delete it.

Phat Daddy
10-15-2006, 06:11 PM
OK...here's the deal. Im selling my truck on the internet, and this is an e-mail that I got sent to me in reguards to buying my truck. What do you guys think? It sounds like a scam to me!
Hello,