PDA

View Full Version : Tranny mount on 1972 F100

19Kona
10-25-2006, 10:45 AM
Ok, I am new to this truck. It has a C6 tranny, but did not come with a tranny mount for the cross member (trans was not installed when I got the truck). Does anyone know if the C6 requires a special mount or ??? I guess the truck didn't originally come with a C6 tranny. Help appreciated, thanks in advance. I will be using the truck to pull by boat around Parker, and the truck has a 429 in it.

DelawareDave
10-25-2006, 11:14 AM
It probably came with a 3 speed Ford-O-Matic, or a manual trans in it. Aluminum bell housing, cast iron center section, and aluminum tailshaft. Hard to remember what had what back then, although I did work as a wrench at a Ford dealer back then. You may be able to use a stock mount that fits the C6 and adapt it to the x-member.

FryJet
10-25-2006, 03:45 PM
What did the truck come with originaly, auto or maual ? Also what engine? 360-390? I've had a few of these trucks and know them pretty well. If you need to know anything just let me know. Here's a pic of my old 67 F-2fiddy.
F.J.
http://www.hotboatpics.com/pics/data/500/1909Picture_097-med.jpg

N2Lake
10-25-2006, 04:37 PM
I used a mount out of a later 70s F150 when I swapped the FE out of my 65.

19Kona
10-25-2006, 08:35 PM
I don't actually know what it came with origin, but it does have what looks like the original shifter on the column. Now it has a 429, and like I said it has the C6 auto. The engine and the fact that it is a CA/AZ and has no rust are the only things going for it. It is otherwise rough. I will need the tranny mount, a grill, an alternator, a seat, etc... before it can venture out from the yard. I will get some pix of the project on my next trip to the Parker house. I am planning on getting some of the parts I need here in Los Angeles - any recommended junk yards???

FryJet
10-26-2006, 01:11 PM