PDA

View Full Version : Any tool guys/mechanics in the house... I need Xmas help...

YeLLowBoaT
12-10-2006, 06:42 PM
My younger brother is going to school right now to become a mechanic, he is starting to buy his own tools. I am thinking about getting him a decent torque wrench. Any one have a good req for one that won't break the bank?
There are tons of brands out there that are all priced about the same ( under $300) I want to buy him something that will last a long time, be easliy recalibrated and accurate.

IMPATIENT 1
12-10-2006, 06:45 PM
i've got the 1/2 snap on digital read out wrench and love it. i'm a gm tech and use it all the time, still accurate after 8yrs of abuse. i think i seen it on the snap on truck for @280-300. if he's just beginning, the craftsman 65 buck special is ok till ya drop it, but good for beginners.

YeLLowBoaT
12-10-2006, 06:54 PM
um I just looked all they carry now for electronic torque wrenchs now are over $1300 :frown:
They do have tons of click type that are 200-300. I'm guessing that something like a 50-150 would be most useful? or would it be better to get him one thats like 20-80?

IMPATIENT 1
12-10-2006, 07:00 PM
get one that goes from 40ftlbs to 200ft lbs or somewhere in that area. i still use a craftsman click type at home, still works great(was the 100 buck 1). it'll cover doin heads and most torque needs. the smaller torque wrenches are for transmission work or where you need to torque down plastic type gaskets without stipping treads in alum., hell get him both for @180, he'll need em eventually.

wsuwrhr
12-10-2006, 07:06 PM
Don't be a cheap ass. Get someone to go in with you and buy the good stuff.
Cheap tools are just that. Cheap.
Brian
My younger brother is going to school right now to become a mechanic, he is starting to buy his own tools. I am thinking about getting him a decent torque wrench. Any one have a good req for one that won't break the bank?