PDA

View Full Version : ATV Forums?

Wet Dream
12-12-2006, 08:21 PM
Anyone know of any good ATV forums? Looking for more technical stuff on the different rides. Heres a 2nd question if anyone wants to take a stab at it. I'm a newbie to the 2 stroke stuff and need to know how to dial in the kids 90cc. It starts fine and runs fine, but really lacks the low end throttle response. I can't say it bogs, but when you crack the throttle, it doesn't jump up in revs. Say you're in the good slick mud at a stand still. Romp the throttle, bluuuuuuuuh (starts to move), then wiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiing (tires spinning) then right back to bluuuuuuuuuuh. When I rode it, around the block, I had to keep moving the choke lever to keep it at the peak output. Any help guys?

wsuwrhr
12-12-2006, 08:28 PM
Idle mixture is off, loose piston, carbon buildup in the exhaust, dented expansion chamber.
Fouled plug

wsuwrhr
12-12-2006, 08:29 PM
two strokes are real simple engines.
There arent that many parts to fail.
Let me know and Ill help you out
to bad you arent local
Brian

Wet Dream
12-12-2006, 08:49 PM
I'm thinking its two of the things you listed. Since I have to move the choke, it s a fuel mixture issue. The other thing I'm leaning toward is the exhaust. It had come loose at the end of the day and was not attached to the motor. Although it was loud, my son said that it was definately faster. Is there a way to cleans these up, or freeflow them more, or am I looking at getting an aftermarket for a 90?

beernut
12-12-2006, 08:50 PM
:hammerhea so buy messing with the choke you were riching the mixture, new bikes are usually real lean and the exhaust is restrictive some smaller bikes have removable restricters in the exhaust, also check for a plugged up silencer, we used to pull them and put em in the campfire to burn out the oil resude(back in the days of mixing gas)pull the plug and see if its wite(lean) or oily (fouled) and put in a new plug anyway,its the cheap way to find out,

wsuwrhr