PDA

View Full Version : Hoover Dam Bypass

burtandnancy2
01-25-2007, 02:28 PM
Just heard on the news, and confirmed on their web site, that delays in construction, some caused by the cranes falling down last September in the wind, have caused a new completion date of 2010. Thats too bad for a lot of us who had planned more trips to Willow Beach and Temple Bar, as well as the new home developments out on 93. I've been driving over the dam for 40+ years and its getting worse every trip. This is not very good news...

HALLETT BOY
01-25-2007, 02:49 PM
Saw a piece about the bridge build on one of the learning channels, unbelievable
amount of work involved !

Ziggy
01-25-2007, 03:57 PM
Saw a piece about the bridge build on one of the learning channels, unbelievable
amount of work involved !
That was on Discovery, Mega builders I think.
I'd be pooping in my shorts if on a tower that high with it swaying a foot or two be design while trying to string up 3 inch cables.

plaster dave
01-25-2007, 04:12 PM
I'd be pooping in my shorts if on a tower that high with it swaying a foot or two be design while trying to string up 3 inch cables.
I second that.

Not So Fast
01-25-2007, 05:35 PM
They said at one point one of the towers (which can be adjusted) was out of plumb by 15 feet:jawdrop: Not me, no way Jose. NSF

Tequila-John
01-25-2007, 05:38 PM
pretty cool build

buzzaro
01-25-2007, 05:59 PM
Its pretty crazy and takes time, but you do get used it.

Jrocket
01-25-2007, 06:33 PM
Its pretty crazy and takes time, but you do get used it.
You work on towers?

Ziggy
01-25-2007, 06:55 PM
They said at one point one of the towers (which can be adjusted) was out of plumb by 15 feet:jawdrop: Not me, no way Jose. NSF
I saw that and about pooped on those guys' behalf........thats gnarley.
I suppose Buzzaro has a point though, its a matter of acclimation.........but still :eek:

Racey
01-25-2007, 08:12 PM