PDA

View Full Version : short term disability insurance

jackpunx
02-07-2007, 09:14 PM
does anyone here deal with that or know anything about it?
I work in the motion picture industry and have great insurance now.. I just want to pay a little extra incase I get hurt on or off the job to have some income until I get off disability.
I have a buddy in the business that got this... he got hurt and recieved about 7k a month.. I think he paid 30.00 a month
thanks in advance
Mark

Racer277
02-07-2007, 09:17 PM
I work in the motion picture industry and have great insurance now.. I just want to pay a little extra incase I get hurt on or off the job to have some income until I get off disability.
I have a buddy in the business that got this... he got hurt and recieved about 7k a month.. I think he paid 30.00 a month
thanks in advance
Mark
Check into Aflac...They have sickness, short and long term disability policies.
Some employers also offer disability policies
Mrs.Racer277

Mrs. Bordsmnj
02-08-2007, 07:27 AM
We offer Short Term and Long Term Disability plans with Mutual of Omaha at my work. The plan we have pays 60% of your wages but SDI pays a little more than 50%. With the few employees that have had to file claims, we are learning its not a whole lot, in one guys case, he is only getting and additional $25/week. :rolleyes: ITs better than nothing but its hardly worth the paperwork.
Blah blah blah, I am currently looking to upgrade the plan or get a different plan. I will let you know if I find out anything worthwhile.
:)

Mattman
02-08-2007, 07:39 AM
Aflac is awesome and Blue Shield has a package that has worked for me as well. Try mylifepath.org.

Windy
02-08-2007, 07:40 AM
Its definitely something to think about. While my brother was fighting cancer, he had disability insurance through his company. They paid him 80% of his wages the last year he worked including overtime, for as long as he needed it.

BarryMac
02-08-2007, 07:48 AM