PDA

View Full Version : Looking for more speed: Blown 23' Scarab SCS

OliverM5
02-25-2007, 07:35 PM
Bought the boat 2 years ago and did a complete cosmetic restoration. Boat came with a Vortech Blown 502 (@ 5 lbs boost), XR Drive and 30 pitch prop. I've gotten it up to about 84 mph with this combo (1/2 tank gas and 4 people), but the boat did get a bit squirrely (chine) at that speed. Is the hull pretty much maxed out at these speeds or should I start playing around to get it into the low 90's? What can I do to get it there and without the instability?
http://www.***boat.com/image_center/data/522/P9020256_2_.JPG

Phat Matt
02-25-2007, 07:37 PM
Tabs would probably help.

OliverM5
02-25-2007, 07:39 PM
Tabs would probably help.
Got the 1000's on it already...they actually kill top end speed as they drag in the water, so they are no good for top end speed stability.

paradigm shift
02-25-2007, 08:26 PM
Tabs will help just do not drop them lower than the bottom.
I am no expert but I would say you are pushing the limits of that hull. Not to say you can not go faster but you are faster than 99% of the others that run that hull I would expect. So finding someone with expierence with that hull and speed will be hard to find.
I believe you will need to try other props or work with gettting your existing prop labbed to help. Drive height also has a lot to do with speed and how a boat reacts to or handles with a given prop. Have a prop that works well and you change drive height you may find it no longer works good. Other than thattake a straight edge and check the last 3' of the bottom for straightness. Sharp edge at the transom and bottom will help some.
Getting the maximum speed from any boat is expensive and a time consuming with a lot of testing before you find that perfect combination or set up unless you go with a known package.
Good luck on your quest and use a lanyard kill switch and llife jacket for those high speed runs.

OliverM5
02-25-2007, 10:00 PM