PDA

View Full Version : Starting / Buying a businessÂ….

dhall50
04-26-2007, 08:55 PM
So from other posts I noticed that quite a few people here own their own business. I would love to hear about them and how you got started. I am 21 and a California Correctional Officer. The money is awesome but I am not completely sold on doing this for the next 30 years. Any input would be great.

DMOORE
04-26-2007, 09:41 PM
So from other posts I noticed that quite a few people here own their own business. I would love to hear about them and how you got started. I am 21 and a California Correctional Officer. The money is awesome but I am not completely sold on doing this for the next 30 years. Any input would be great.
As a business owner I can give you one piece of advice. If you are going to start a business, be sure it is something you love . Because you will be married to it in the begining. A passion really helps.
Darrell.

lalhc
04-26-2007, 09:53 PM
If you like what you're doing right now, then I would advise to stick w/it and try to start something you really like to do on your time off. If it works, then you should be prepared to go out on your own.

SummerBreeze
04-27-2007, 05:22 AM
Are you truly a business owner or are you self employed
Big difference
My hat go's off to for wanting to do your own thing
Read the book "Rich Dad Poor Dad" it will teach you the difference in business
Good luck

Mr. Crusader 83
04-27-2007, 06:16 AM
My father and I recently opened doors to a new business in Lake Havasu City. Its a small engine repair shop. We are authorized Stihl dealers. I will tell you its no easy task getting started. I work mon-sat 7-4. sunday is my only day off. I run the shop and my father is out driving the town meeting people. The best thing I can tell you is advertise and spread the word. People talk, and a good rep. will get you far.

DSW
04-27-2007, 06:18 AM