PDA

View Full Version : Does resin really need to be activated?

probablecause
05-27-2007, 10:39 AM
If I want to put a couple of coats of resin on my engine interior wood to give it that shiny look, do I need to add any activator or hardner chemical to it?
If not, how long will it take to dry since it does not have any hardner in it?
Thanks, Brendan

mondorally
05-27-2007, 12:56 PM
I'm no expert but I think without hardener it won't harden at all. When I was making my seat bases the coats I noticed a huge difference depending on how much catalyst I used. Sometimes it would harden to the touch in an hour or less, sometimes a day or more. I was mixing up different size batches and guestimating how many drops of catalyst to use.
Maybe try coating a 2"x4" with different resin/catalyst ratios (or no catalyst at all) as an experiment?
-Justin

Jbb
05-27-2007, 02:37 PM
You would be real unhappy if you did not catalyze any resin you use......the flypaper effect might prove helpful......but not practical ...or shiney..

YeLLowBoaT
05-27-2007, 08:41 PM
it would harden, but it would take a long time... hardner is a catalist. It just speeds the reaction up.

bikerboater
05-28-2007, 03:21 AM
I'm more familiar with body filler (been slingin it since I was a teenager) but it's polyester too. I can tell you that without the hardener it only gets to the consistency of half dried dog poop. Not the result you are looking for I'm sure. lol I was thinking of sugesting a clear urethane finish but the good stuff requires a catalyst too. If you are worried about the work time, experiment with the amount of catalyst and perhaps consider doing it in smaller sections.

ratso
05-28-2007, 03:30 PM
Mekp

AdrenelineOD
06-04-2007, 12:32 AM
UV resin, You can work with it till uv rays hit it. I only know about Fiberglass Hawaii selling it, but I`m also stuck on an Island.

71tahiti
06-10-2007, 05:36 PM
Mix up a "Hot" batch and apply it. Otherwise you will have a sticky mess for a long time..