PDA

View Full Version : Help!! Oxidation

brwn234
07-22-2007, 06:55 PM
Alright, its not that bad. My white was getting a little dull in some spots. So I ordered a 3 step kit from Mcguires. I started with #49(I think) Oxidation remover. I'm only using a random orbital buffer. Parts of it look good but some spots are very hard to buff out. They almost get chalkier. I spent a long time trying to get it right and only finished part of one side. Theres no way I can finish it like this. I've thought about getting one of those porter cable orbital buffers. I've never used a rotary buffer before and I'm kinda worried about F'n something up. Should I wet sand first? I'm lost, help me out. Thanks

Beer-30
07-22-2007, 07:33 PM
Alright, its not that bad. My white was getting a little dull in some spots. So I ordered a 3 step kit from Mcguires. I started with #49(I think) Oxidation remover. I'm only using a random orbital buffer. Parts of it look good but some spots are very hard to buff out. They almost get chalkier. I spent a long time trying to get it right and only finished part of one side. Theres no way I can finish it like this. I've thought about getting one of those porter cable orbital buffers. I've never used a rotary buffer before and I'm kinda worried about F'n something up. Should I wet sand first? I'm lost, help me out. Thanks
I sand the worst spots. The slight discoloration should buff right off. Any hard looking spots or chalkiness should be lightly sanded. I hit them with 2500 wet and then buff. It takes most of the work out of the buffing.