PDA

View Full Version : Full hydraulic or hydraulic assist?

ClimbToFL350
11-12-2007, 08:21 PM
I need to put hydraulic steering on my boat. It should run in the high 80s after I drop in my motor. It is a 21 foot hallett vector. Should I just put on dual rams to assist the stock steering or just go for the full hydraulic dual ram setup??
Are there any deals out there for the parts?

HPBoats83
11-12-2007, 08:43 PM
I'm deffinately not an expert here but I would say that you should be just fine with the hydraulic assist. The boat is only 21' so you wouldn't be in the ocean flying it or anything and you would only be going 80. If you could do (afford) the fully hydraulic, why not. Can't be to safe. Like I said I'm no expert but I think you should be more then fine with a single ram assist.

RT21
11-12-2007, 09:42 PM
80 is pretty damn fast. Especially in a 21 ft. boat. I would say dual ram full hydraulic is a must. But, this might only apply if you care about your friends and family that will be in your boat.

HemiDude
11-12-2007, 09:44 PM
Disk brakes for something this light and powerful...:hammer2: :hammer2: :hammer2:

LHC30Victory
11-12-2007, 09:45 PM
with hyd assist you still have a cable, and although 21ft isnt that long, there will still be play in the steering. Go full hydraulic!

burtandnancy2
11-12-2007, 11:07 PM
Since you are so close, run over to GT Performance and order a full hydraulic system by IMCO. Its a good time of year to get this kind of work done. They have done a lot of ski race boats and really know what they are doing...

DeltaSigBoater
11-12-2007, 11:21 PM
Since you are so close, run over to GT Performance and order a full hydraulic system by IMCO. Its a good time of year to get this kind of work done. They have done a lot of ski race boats and really know what they are doing...
We've been taking our boat to GT Performance since '89. I highly recommend them!

socaldieselkrew
11-12-2007, 11:31 PM