PDA

View Full Version : New set up, Tunnel jet.

DEL51
06-13-2002, 04:38 PM
I have a tunnel hull,19ft Centurion,with an A/B cut impeller, performance intake grate,and ride plate.This boat had a tunnel rammed 477 chev that ran 6500 rpm. I am new to tunnels and am curious if this seems high.I intend to run a mild blower motor this summer and want to keep the rpms under 6400.Do tunnels load the pump as well as v- type hulls? After I install the new engine, if the rpm is high, should I try to adjust the shoe depth to alter my rpm or change to an A cut impeller.I am detuning the motor until I am satisfied with my tunnel skills. Thanks for your input,DEL51

comin' unscrewed
06-13-2002, 04:45 PM
Sounds high to me. My 77 Southwind tunnel with a fairly stout 468 inch Chevy and an A/B (Berkley JG) turned 5800. When I went to a B cut and a bigger cam (roller) and it turned 6150.

DEL51
06-13-2002, 08:37 PM
Thats what I thought, i may have to check out the tach.I guess this is where I will start once I get the engine in.

wsm9808
06-13-2002, 09:47 PM
del, did you ever check out that red and white 21ft Liberater at Fox marine that I emailed you the pics of last fall? It is still for sale and I was wondering if anyone had seen it and knew first hand how it looks. It is too far from me to go look at and find out it is a piece of crap when I get there.
Sounds like you finally found a hull for your motor.

DEL51
06-13-2002, 10:11 PM