PDA

View Full Version : How close have you come to death?

HighRoller
08-13-2003, 11:15 PM
I was listening to Bill O'Reailly talk about his near-death experiences and thought it would make a good topic.Here's mine...
I worked in the oil fields outside Bakersfield when I was 20 or so.We rode out in a POS Dodge van every morning to the yard in Lost Hills.Well,the new guy who got picked to drive the van was a nut.He would drive at least 90MPH at all times,scaring the shyt out of the other 10 people in this van who were waiting for us to crash and die.Finally we had enough and ratted him out.They told him someone else was going to drive from now on and he got pissed.He wouldn't even ride in the van,rode his motorcycle all the way to the yard after that.Well,one morning we're warming up all our trucks and getting our assignments for the day when I notice this dude has parked his bike really close to the yard and left it running.I thought nothing of it,figured he had decided to quit and just showed up to tell the boss.About that time an ARCO rep pulls up in a car and tells us all to shut off our trucks and proceed in our van to the headquarters.We do as we are told,not knowing what's up.Well,they have every oilfield employee out there lined up for a complete search including personal effects and vehicles.While we were in line they went through all of our work trucks completely.Turns out they had passed a new policy completely banning alcohol,drugs and weapons on ARCO property.Anyone found with so much as an empty beer can would be fired.Well,I glance over as the motorcycle dude is being searched and see the officer holding a gun.Holy Crap!The guy must have done something serious for that officer to pull his gun.WRONG!!It was motorcycle boy's gun,a 9MM automatic fully loaded with a bullet in the pipe ready to go.They also found three ammo clips and a knife in his backpack.This dude was geared up to take us all out for telling on him!!!I had to physically restrain myself f