PDA

View Full Version : External Steering

Blown509Liberator
01-30-2003, 06:28 AM
I have some questions about external steering systems. I am going to add one to my convincor the system I am looking at is from world class marine. Has anyone used this system? There was a write up on one being installed in the Dec/Jan hot Boat but nothing was said on how the system worked. I like this system because of the shorter wing span on the cylinders ( the convincor is only 7.5' beam). But how dose that affect performance. Also thought on single over duel cylinders. This boat will never be a 80+ mph boat. 60's yes, 70's maybe but 80's no way. I was looking at a single system. Can you add a ram at a later time with out having to upgrade to total system. Under stand I am not looking a the full hydraulic system just the add on that uses the stock cable and pump.

1stepcloser
01-30-2003, 10:14 AM
I have no experience with the World CLass Marine system, but I did install a similar system from WPM. I used the single cylinder add on system and had to use a short ram also due to space consraints. I lost a small amount of turning radius, but got used to it quickly. Overall it was a very good improvement as far as performance was concerned, it made a big improvement to steering wheel input.
As far as single ram versus dual, like I said, I used a single, mostly due to the fact that I will most likely never see 80, and, in addition, will never make more that 500 HP. I felt the need for twin rams was not there.
With the WPM system, it can be upgraded at any time in the future with no hassle, including the hydraulic helm, if you decide to go that route.
I am very happy with the way my system turned out, and would recommend it.
If you have not made a purchase yet, may I suggest giving Dan a call over at WPM (Warlock Performance Marine). They're in California, but Dan is a great guy, he will do just about anything it takes to make a system work out right.