PDA

View Full Version : Need answers to dumb questions

BigWaveDave
06-05-2002, 11:44 AM
My girlfriend and I have owned a 24' Nordic Venture for about 6 months. I have a persistent drip on my feet while under way. I've pulled off the knee bolster and crawled around on my back looking for the source of the water. I cannot find any water discoloration and guess it is the speedo pitot tubing. Is there any way to test this? Also, what the hell is "dead rise at the transom" and what does it do?

XTRM22
06-05-2002, 05:38 PM
I used to call that drip evap cooling in my galaxie, about every third trip the pedo tube would blow clear off. To test it, have the little woman drive and check. I finally had to hunt down a tiny little hose clamp. Dead rise? I should know this one but I'm still learning port and starboard! http://free.***boat.net/ubb/wink.gif
Chuck

2Slow
06-05-2002, 07:43 PM
I think dead rise is the angle of the transom, the drip would be the speedo line for sure, cut an inch off, and put it back on.
Does you speedo still work? Mine froze and cracked and my feet were got really wet!!
Originally posted by BigWaveDave:
My girlfriend and I have owned a 24' Nordic Venture for about 6 months. I have a persistent drip on my feet while under way. I've pulled off the knee bolster and crawled around on my back looking for the source of the water. I cannot find any water discoloration and guess it is the speedo pitot tubing. Is there any way to test this? Also, what the hell is "dead rise at the transom" and what does it do?

gnarley
06-05-2002, 10:02 PM
I could be wrong but I thought the dead-rise was only the angle of the Vee coming from the bottom center of the hull to the top center of the bow, never heard of stern dead-rise.

spectras only
06-05-2002, 10:40 PM