PDA

View Full Version : New Project...input needed!

fourspeednup
01-23-2004, 02:18 PM
I want to make an RC boat killer. I'm putting a weedwhacker 2-stroke into a custom hull with a mini v-drive. Only one prob, I need a suitable hull. All other RC boats are too small for a motor with this much weight and I'm planning on it going real fast too. I think I'm going to make one but I've never worked w/ fiberglass before other than surfboard repairs. Check out my thread over on barney's site and all you glass gurus...give me some comments/ ideas.
Oh yeah, I don't plan on running this one into anyone's leg;)
havasu barney (http://www.havasubarney.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=1692)

Jetdriver
01-23-2004, 02:23 PM
There is a process called the Lost Foam method. We use it to make High speed RC gliders. Do some research on google and Im sure you will find some good how to's. It basically takes a piece of foam that you shape then glass over it with resin and carbonfiber for strength. then once the resin is set you use acetone to melt the foam away. and you are left with a clean fiberglass hull to work with. Keep me posted on your progress. I would really like to see what you come up with. I have access to some wacker motors I could play with. Might be interesting.
Shawn

fourspeednup
01-23-2004, 02:26 PM
I was thinking about something like that. Don't really need a dedicated mold like a full size boat.
:cool:

Jetdriver
01-23-2004, 03:07 PM
Exactly! No need for all the extra steps!

BUSTI
01-23-2004, 03:52 PM
RC boats r the funnest! My son who is 23 evry year still takes his to Mohave and when we are in the cove i have the best fun with it!

spectras only
01-23-2004, 04:02 PM
4spd&up, I have a 46" Prather hull with a 35cc chainsaw engine .Built an arneson drive for it and a step up beltdrive.It's an unlimited class model and extremely stable. I've built this boat over 20 yrs ago. The best engine for an R/C boat you are going to build is the 23 Zenoah marine engine