PDA

View Full Version : 496 HO upgrades?

tg9380
02-08-2004, 05:18 PM
Does anyone know what upgrades are available for the H.O., besides supercharging? I saw a whipple ad in a magazine about a year ago that was advertising a kit to put out 525 hp non supercharged, but I haven't heard any more about it since then.

Havasu_Dreamin
02-08-2004, 05:21 PM
I'm not an engine expert by any stretch of the imagination but the consensus seems to be "don't do it" with the 496 HO. Somethine about the internals not being up to the task of the supercharging.

BoatFloating
02-08-2004, 05:21 PM
Originally posted by tg9380
Does anyone know what upgrades are available for the H.O., besides supercharging? I saw a whipple ad in a magazine about a year ago that was advertising a kit to put out 525 hp non supercharged, but I haven't heard any more about it since then.
Arizona Speed and Marine has a kit that takes it to 625 HP I think.
Look here (http://www.azspeed-marine.com/)

BoatFloating
02-08-2004, 05:24 PM
Originally posted by Havasu_Dreamin
I'm not an engine expert by any stretch of the imagination but the consensus seems to be "don't do it" with the 496 HO. Somethine about the internals not being up to the task of the supercharging. ..
He said besides supercharging. And I don't think the interals are that bad....

Flashwave
02-08-2004, 05:59 PM
The HO internals are very good. The way to get HP out of the HO is to make it breath. Depending on what you want, a good set of headers is a start. Should get you to 450-460 HP. After that, porting the heads and remapping the PCM. AZ Speed has done a lot of work on the 496 and is a good place to find out what can be done. They designed a new intake manifold and along with other work, can push it to 600 HP.
J

Havasu_Dreamin
02-08-2004, 07:19 PM
Originally posted by BoatFloating
He said besides supercharging. And I don't think the interals are that bad....