PDA

View Full Version : Whiplle Superchargers

sigepmock
03-12-2004, 09:30 AM
Just thought I'd offer up my time/info to anyone thinking about installing a supercharger on their truck. I installed a Whipple system on my 03 Chevy 2500HD with 6.0L about 6 months ago. Best thing I ever did. I have 18000 plus miles and no problems. It been a learning process and I think back to when I started it would have been nice to have someone to talk to that had already done it. I am by no means an expert but ask away or PM me and I will do my best or put you in contact with someone who is an expert. Thanks.

roln 20s
03-12-2004, 09:58 AM
Did you install it yourself? How long did it really take? Any super special tools that are required? I was told by the Chevy dealer (looking at a new truck) that they install them and they take around 18 hours-sounds like BS to me.
Looks good, glad to hear its trouble free. Hows the towing?
Roln 20s

sigepmock
03-12-2004, 10:24 AM
Did the install myself with the help of two buddies, one who is pretty mechanically inclined the other mostly sat around drinking beer, but it took us all of 18 hrs....But that was because I was extremely cautious and anal. The directions were a little shaky in some places because they were a little generic, covered a couple of year models, I am sure that if I did one again it would take half the time. The only scary part was cutting into the wiring harness that feeds the main computer, about a thousand diffent wires and you had to splice into just the right ones. It wasn't hard just a little nerve racking.