PDA

View Full Version : Photogs: Canon Lenses

tcook33
04-01-2006, 10:04 AM
Please forgive me for I am a rook.
I just purchased a Canon Rebel XT 8.0MP that came with an EF-S 18-55mm Lens.
I'm looking to purchaes a couple more lenses to widen my range of shooting.
When I go to the track with my buddies, I usually take about a half hour and shoot a couple hundred pics of the local riders. I am also a contractor that shoots pics for my website, marketing, and jobs. Oh, and I can't stop taking pics of the newborn.. :D
Does anyone have any suggestions for me on what type of lenses to purchase and where? I'm looking for a zoom/telephoto, wide angle, and a fish eye. I've been looking on e-bay and it seems a little risky. Anyone else have any luck on e-bay? I also see these other brands (sigma, tamron, etc.) that fit Canon cameras. Seems like a bad route to go, no? I would think that the best choice is to stick to an authentic Canon lense.
With all the photogs on the board, I would love it if someone could give me the 101 to assist my needs.
Thanks in advance. :D

al cole'holic
04-01-2006, 10:10 AM
..wassup yo :D
What lens your camera accept??

al cole'holic
04-01-2006, 10:14 AM
..oops, just saw it in your post....check out Quantaray...most of the places on ebay are solid to use, I always check the number of feedbacks they have. We've bought alot of stuff from B&H Photo (http://www.bhphotovideo.com/)

Jrocket
04-01-2006, 10:16 AM
If you can afford it stick with the Canon series lenses.I use these 2 lenses mainly.Motocross,boating everday photos.These 2 will cover almost anything you want to shoot.
http://consumer.usa.canon.com/ir/controller?act=ModelDetailAct&fcategoryid=150&modelid=7469
http://consumer.usa.canon.com/ir/controller?act=ModelDetailAct&fcategoryid=149&modelid=12955
Also look around in here for answers and good deals.
Fred Miranda (www.fredmiranda.com)

tcook33
04-01-2006, 10:33 AM