PDA

View Full Version : How to find a job

Speedin' Ian
05-10-2004, 09:14 AM
How did most of you find your job? I ask this because I am graduating college in a couple weeks and starting to stress out over the future. I have a nice resume and I have submitted it on-line to a few companies, but I'm not sure that's going to cut it. I was also thinking about going to some temp. agencies that I know feed some of the larger corporations in my area (like Amgen). What do you guys think?

THOR
05-10-2004, 09:17 AM
What do you do? What do you want to do? What is your degree in?

Speedin' Ian
05-10-2004, 09:36 AM
Well currently I work as a bartender and I am a volunteer for the Ventura County Fire Department in their community education department, but I have worked in fine wood working, special effects, and corporate settings. I am graduating with a B.A. in Liberal Studies, and plan on pursuing an MBA after I find a job.
I am interested in the entertainment industry, sales, and promotions, but willing to start just about anywhere. I don’t want to limit myself because I have had jobs in the past that I thought I would Like and ended up hating and I have had jobs I though I would hate and ended up loving.

totenhosen
05-10-2004, 10:37 AM
Well you probably should have gotten a degree that is worth the paper it is written on. You kind of limited yourself. You could always teach.

BrendellaJet
05-10-2004, 10:51 AM
is it too late to get a second degree? I know two people with that degree, one is a teacher, the other wanted to be a teacher but couldn't hang, so her dad had to give her a job.

HavasuDreamin'
05-10-2004, 11:13 AM
Originally posted by Speedin' Ian
How did most of you find your job?
Moved to Chicago and had a job within 1 month after looking and interviewing for almost a year in So. Cal. All I have to say is good luck..........its no picnic when your fresh out of school. :(